A new ChatGPT privacy feature is introduced that helps users lock their conversations behind Face ID, device authentication, and a four-digit PIN, making it easy to protect the chats. Locked Chats is a new feature available in Go, Business, Edu, Free, and Enterprise. But this new feature is not available for healthcare. Locked chats are removed from standard search results, pinned chats, or even chat history. Users have to authenticate with a biometric method to access them. They can start a new conversation inside the locked area; a locked chat is saved, and users may save it and can return whenever they want. Locked chats relock when the user closes the tab.
Users can end it with the Lock Now feature. If any files are created in a locked chat, they are also hidden from the other chats. ChatGPT memory is kept on; locked chats get a memory of their own. Information stored inside locked chats stays out of regular chats. Locking a conversation does not remove anything, but some conversations like group chats or temporary chats, chats with scheduled tasks, or meeting recordings cannot be locked.
Also, when unlocked, only locked chats can be shared or pinned. Users have to delete the link if they cut off access to previously shared content. Anyone can copy content if they can open a locked chat. Also, according to TechCrunch, the broader concern about how sensitive details are handled or stored when people use ChatGPT for personal information is unknown. According to OpenAI, deletion cannot be undone, and its team cannot recover any content once deleted.
|